A year of Compassion (a #1000speak post)

Standard

ae2a4c437fe285a424d26796875f10ff

 

It hardly seems like a year ago that this Compassion thing got started. Well, I guess technically compassion has been around a lot longer. 1000 voices speak of compassion speak  started a year ago. A year ago I would have told you I was a compassionate person. So what has changed? I feel I am more compassionate now than I was then. Compassion has entered and invaded every part of my life. It is filled the nooks and crannies. Some of them I didn’t even know were there.

Recently I came across this quote by the Dali Lama. ” Compassion is not religious business, it is human business, it is not luxury. It is essential for our own peace and mental stability, it is essential for human survival.

It made me really stop and think. I had thought I have compassion so I am good. The thing is, though, if compassion is essential to human survival then we never have enough. We can never stop thinking about it, just like we can never stop making sure we have food to eat, shelter and air to breathe. It must become something we strive to fill our lives with each and every day, until our bucket is spilling trails of compassion everywhere.  Every morning waking up as if our bucket of compassion is empty.

It just seems like such an overwhelming thing. How do I just suddenly start being more compassionate? I already feel like I have compassion. Like many things it starts small. It starts with you. It was recommended to me that I start with Loving-kindness Meditation. Loving-kindness meditation is where you visualize your compassion and love and you give it to yourself, you give it to a loved one, an acquaintance, someone who you have issues with, a complete stranger.

For months I struggled with this meditation. The thing was, I had compassion by the buttload for other people. I didn’t realize how little compassion I actually had for myself. It was only after working on self compassion that I was able to progress in this meditation.

Going back to the quote, there is no segregation of the compassion there. He says compassion is essential for human survival. This past year we have looked at so many aspects of compassion, through 1000 voices of compassion speak. Never before had I realized how broad and far reaching compassion stretched. Never before had I considered how self compassion would play into my compassion for others. A year later and now I would say, I don’t have enough compassion. I don’t have enough compassion just like I can’t stock pile air to breathe. You can’t stock pile compassion. It is something you are continually seeking. Sometimes we don’t even realize what we are seeking has anything to do with compassion.So the simplest thing is to start with compassion and start with yourself.

 

8 responses »

  1. I think that can be true, but also that it’s far easier to express compassion toward others than towards ourselves. It’s too easy to justify being hard on ourselves because we know all the factors (even if we’re bad at taking them into account).

    I have Kristin Neff’s book about self-compassion. Yvonne’s been recommending I read it for about, oooh, probably OVER a year now, and it’s still on my shelf because I struggle with the idea of it. I’m getting there.

    But no, in general, I think compassion is one of those things we can never have enough of.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All true – it is so much easier to find others deserving of compassion than ourselves. I think that’s a big part of why my posts focus on self-compassion. I see it in others’ posts and I know it’s something we are sorely lacking as humans. And I do think it could be a large part of the answer to the bigger problem of unkindness and evil in the world.
    But that’s getting all way too philosophical for the moment.
    I’ve really missed connecting with you for quite a while lately and how did that even happen? I think I’ve been buried in life deeper than I realized. I hope you’re well – or at least as well as can be expected (I know those days well).
    Glad you’re with us on this compassion journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

