A Ten things of thankful post

Standard

Ten things of thankful has become an integral part of my continued therapy. It does so much to your mental health to stop and think, What am I thankful for? To really stop and think about what is going on. Ten things of thankful is not about closing your eyes to the negative things in your life. It is about taking those negative things and looking for something good about it. Sometimes the only good part to be gleaned is you survived it and that is okay. Sometimes though we can see the greater lesson at work. Sometimes.

This week I had so many wonderful things happen. However, I drove to see Lizzi and Ten things of thankful was on my mind as that is how I first met this dynamic woman. I am so thankful I stumbled upon her and this blog hop.  I am also thankful she loves glitter just as much as I do. I am thankful that I am the only one to think to glitterbomb the glitterbomber!

I am thankful I have a husband who understands my deep down yearnings. He didn’t question why I wanted to travel almost three hours to see a person I had only known on the internet. I am thankful that he came with me.

I am thankful I have a car. It is not the cleanest car or the newest car or even an airconditioned car right now. It is a car though. It is a car I actually really like.

I am thankful that I have a daughter who is musically inclined. I am so amazed at her accomplishments. She is now in a choir and also persuing advanced harp as well.

I am thankful that even with it’s problems we have a place to call home. We have a roof over our head and that is a lot more than some people have.

I am thankful for Florida. Florida is so amazing and so diverse. I got to see hills. It wasn’t mountains by any means but it was not flat. We went on a hike after meeting Lizzi and it was amazing.

I am thankful that I know i need nature. I need to be out in the forrests and pine flatwoods and hammocks. I need them all. I felt the forrest and the forrest felt me yesterday. Things I didn’t even know were unsettled, settled into place.

I am thankful that despite having multiple chronic illness’s, I am not letting any of them win. I am living life on my terms, mostly. I definetely feel the extra stress of driving and hiking in unfamiliar territory but I also feel the great sense of accomplishment that it is.

I am thankful that I know myself well enough to be able to tune out people who say just get a job, any job. That is not me. It never has been. I tried it once and got lucky to get a job I really did like. I tried it a second time and it lasted three months. I will just keep at it, the right one is out there and will come along, most likely at just the right time as well.

8 responses »

  1. Erin, your list is so uplifting. Loved the glitterbomb for the glitterbomber. I gave her a magic glitter wand. Have a good week and I’m glad that although you have the illnesses, the illnesses don’t have you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Maggie once said, “I have a joke. Your car is old and you are old !” So glad you got to meet Lizzi. And so glad your husband and Maggie went with you. It looked like a wonderful day…you always have the best adventures ! And I am so impressed with Maggie’s harp playing. I am sure she will do well and enjoy the choir too. She is an amazing young lady.

    Like

  3. I love that your daughter plays the harp. So unusual and what a skill! Glad you enjoyed your visit with Lizzi. I was fun to be a part of her visit.

    Like

  4. Music is a wonderful thing to be a part of. It is beautiful.
    Glad you could go on a bit of a road trip and enjoyed hiking in Florida.
    I know how hard it is to try and enjoy all that life has to offer with chronic illness. It is so worth it.

    Like

  5. I’m glad you were able to make the drive to glitterbomb Lizzi. I have no doubt she enjoyed it. 🙂
    Florida is a beautiful state. Don’t know if I would like the summers there, but the other seasons…I could totally live there.

    Like

  6. I loved your comment about feeling the forests and the forests feeling you. Perhaps it is because I was able to have a similar experience last week. We also planted a lot of pine trees years ago, and now kind of have a mini forest on our property.

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

