Compassionately Honest children

Standard

Honesty. It is something a lot of us strive for. It does however often leave us feeling very vulernable. When we meet that honesty with compassion a wonderful thing happens. We reach a new level of understanding. Suddenly progress is being made where it had not previously happened. As a parent I struggle with this. How do I be open and honest with my daughter about how the world is? I want to protect her and keep her safe.  For awhile I clung to this quote : “Parents need to fill up a child’s bucket of self-esteem so high that the rest of the world can not poke enough holes to drain it dry. ” Alvin Price.

However, the more I thought about it the more I didn’t like it. Why? Why must I fill her bucket so high? What if I just had a child with a healthy self-esteem? Would that be enough? What if instead of filling her up so much that she might overflow, What if I just told her the truth?  If I do that, do I have to have all the answers? It took me a bit to realize, I don’t. I don’t need to be able to tell her why it is, just that it is.I can tell her I don’t know why these things have to happen. They have happened and now we have to deal with them and go forward. If we have open and honest discussions about what is going on in the world, compassion and empathy can be fostered. Not too long ago I found this quote which made so much more sense to me than the first one.

“It is not our job to toughen our children up to face a cruel and heartless world. It is our job to raise children who will make the world a little less cruel and heartless. “L. R. Knost

So then my questions turned a different corner. How do I raise a child who can survive this world AND possibly make it better? How do I keep her the loving, peaceful, compassionate and kind child she is with the reality of this world?

The longer my daughter has been at a Montessori school the more I am convinced this is the right path. She is honest about situations but not in a way that is lacking empathy or compassion. This is something Montessori has fostered since the beginning of school for her. There are variations of it but I have heard it called, the peace rose the most.  If feelings are hurt, sit down and figure out how to make it better. Acknowledge that certain behavior was not right without blaming one specific party. I only see this as helping the world be a better place in the long run. If five year olds can do this, What is holding us back? What if all schools everywhere used this process starting in kindergarten. Sure the progress would be slow but I guarantee there would be change.

In order for peaceful conflict resolution, you have to look inside yourself as well. How many of us want to sit down and honestly look inside ourselves? I do it, but I am still squirmy and uncomfortable. I do it because I know my daughter needs the example. I do it because I have seen her peacefully resolve conflicts with skill that just blows me away. Actually, I am not sure if I am being the example or if she is. I know she showed me it is possible in a way I never understood before. I am sure someone had explained the concept that Montessori uses before. It just took my daughter actually doing it for me to understand. Now it comes as second nature to her.  What if we had a whole generation like that? Can you imagine the changes that would happen?

This post is part of the movement 1000 voices of compassion speak.

You can join our monthly link up

 

 

Or just read, share and especially comment. We love comments!

You can also hook up with us on

Facebook group   ,  our Facebook page and Twitter

5 responses »

  1. Wow, I love your post Erin. I love your honesty here, that you are learning from your daughter’s experience at Montessori. Often I think we have life totally backwards and instead of trying to teach our very young kids how to behave, we parents should watch them and learn. Of course, there’s stuff we need to teach them too, but so much of how they are just amazes me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It really is a tough. As the mother to 4 teens (my youngest is 12 so he’s not technically a teen), I did the best I could and I filled their self esteem buckets until my arms were sore from their heaviness. Then I tried just trusting that my children would learn through example. By the 4th child I was basically, “Please raise yourself. Mommy is tired.” All my children are terrific. When it comes down to it compassion is taught all around us…but I do agree, Montessori is exceptional.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Compassionately Honest children | 1000 Voices F...

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

