Getting ready

Standard

Vacationing with Chronic illness and chronic pain isn’t easy.It takes some prep work to really enjoy yourself. This is our third year doing this trip and each year I have put more and more effort into preparing myself. It has paid off each time.

This time around I am getting back into my routine of walking four miles two times a week. Disney has a lot of walking! Normally this is not something I do during the summer as it is too freaking hot. I am not nearly dedicated to get up early enough to beat the heat. We got up at six thirty this morning and it was already a real feel of 91 and 87% humidity. I was like yeah not going to happen. I went back to sleep, which only lasted about an hour. This time I said well let’s do this then. I need to get this piece of crap body up to par. It helped that the kid had been ready to go on a bike ride since six thirty, wearing her helmet and all. Most of the time I bring her bike, I walk she rides. I was seriously wondering if I was going to make it to the two-mile point. By this time the kid was bored. She had started riding circles around me. Go on ahead, I tell her. Go to the bridge. The bridge is the two-mile point and where we turn around at. It wasn’t until she was way way way ahead of me that it dawned on me. If I didn’t want to walk all the way there I was screwed for getting her back. I knew this because I also knew that there was a flock of butterflies that were all over the firebush by the bench. She was not going to come back looking for me any time soon. I wish I was devious enough that I had planned it this way. As a type of motivation for making it to the two  mile point. I wasn’t. I was just a pestered mom trying to take a freaking walk.

I made the four miles, came home and took a nap. I have planned it all out.  Thursday I will walk again and then on Saturday as well. Monday we will probably go to the beach and then Tuesday walk , Wednesday beach, thursday walk. I will probably then take about four days off to just rest and recover a bit. Then I will walk again Tuesday and Thursday. Then friday packing and driving to Disney.

Mixing in all of this I will be focusing more and more on anti-inflamatory eating for my diet. I will be cutting back on my vice of soda and drinking more and more water. I will write more later on what I am eating and what I am juicing for preparation of our trip. It seems like a lot to do for a four-day vacation. However, when we first started doing these vacations it was three days. It was enough it took a week to recover from. The added day actually makes it easier to rest and relax and still not miss out.

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

