Ten simple things of thankful

Standard

It’s Friday and time to pause and count the things we are thankful for. This week they seem like very simple basic things. However, when we take time to be thankful for the simple basic things, we can appreciate the bigger things better. I definitely have bigger things to be thankful for as well. Ten Things of Thankful here we go.

This week I am thankful for water. This is going to cover all of my thankful numbers. We woke up to no running water Sunday. Well it might have actually happened later than when we woke up, I don’t really remember. I just know we had no running water Sunday. The reservoir for the well lost its prime. We got it going. Phew. Then Monday afternoon Maggie goes out back to fill up the watering can for the garden. She found the backyard flooded. Now the reservoir was overflowing. Then it was dry again the next day.  Long story short, we are going to have to dig up the old well pump and the water level is too low for the current one to work properly. Right now we are tapped into our neighbors water.

23 responses »

  1. Oh, Erin. We have a well pump, too. The biggest problem we had was when we lost electricity for 8 days during Hurricane Sandy. No electricity = no water. It was awful. I hope your well situation is resolved very soon. Thank goodness for sharing neighbors.

    Like

  2. That totally sucks Erin! Like Val, I can relate to your woes. 2004 was our second year living in FL and you know what happened that year! After the hurricanes, I was glad when we bought the house we kept the pool! We used the water in the pool to flush the toilets. You’re so right. We often take the “simple” things for granted .
    You’ve got great neighbors. Hope you get the new pump in and everything working very, very soon!!

    Like

  3. Oh my word. What a mess. I hope you can get that well situation figured out very soon. In the meantime, thank heavens for nice neighbors. I tried to carry buckets on my head when I was a kid and it is way harder than it looks. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh I do hope you have this well on the way to figured out by now. The things we are so used to having that we take for granted. When they’re gone we sure do understand how vital and convenient they are. Hope you’re feeling better, too!

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

