The most exciting Doctor’s appointment and I wasn’t even pregnant!

Standard

I had put it off for long enough. I finally bit the bullet and made my yearly womanly appointment. In my defense they were the one’s that cancelled and then rescheduled me for a day I couldn’t make it. It’s not exactly a pleasant doctor’s appointment so it was not the top thing on my mind. Most of the time when I did remember they were at lunch. Anyway, that’s mostly just excuses.

Here it was the day of the appointment, I did my duty and got on the scale. I actually liked their scale. It was two pounds less than what mine had been saying. SCORE! Blood pressure and pulse were excellent for once, maybe that meditation stuff is working. You know what comes next, here is a robe wear it like a jacket and a paper cover to go over your legs. The ultimate fun.

The appointment started and everything was going fine. Then the fire alarm went off. I looked at my A.R.N.P and she looked at me. I looked down at my robe and paper. Then it stopped. We sighed a relief. She said ” they hadn’t told us they would be testing it today. ” So lay down and inch on down the table and it starts up again. She leaves the room to see what in the world is going on. It stops. ” Is that a fire drill because I have a patient in stirrups!” I can hear. Oh how wonderful.  It starts up again and Then I hear her scream. Now it probably only took about three seconds for her to come back in after that scream, but that did not stop my brain. Oh no it was sure that the building was falling down and in flames. Or the fireman was there because we all know fireman show up seconds after the alarm goes off right? Or there was some kind of hostage situation going on. Or….or…or… she comes in. ” Man that thing is loud it went off right when I was walking by.” Okay so maybe the scream was more of a yelp. It’s not as if I was feeling very confident laying on a table with my feet in stirrups. It doesn’t go off any more through that part of the visit but as soon as she was done she told me to get dressed and then we would finish just in case. I have never been so happy to put my bra and jeans back on, EVER!

Reviewing labwork was next on the agenda. Oh look, I get a new diagnosis as well. It wasn’t really a surprise. We had suspected this was coming for the last six months. Hypothyroidism. My levels had been flip flopping and were low but just a little low. Since one of the side effects of the medication can be a heart arrhythmia and I already have tachycardia we had decided to just keep a close eye on it. Well now we were at the point, medication was needed. It was probably what had been causing my bottom dropping fatigue where I was just flattened. It was probably why I kept hitting plateaus on loosing weight. So many things this answered. In truth, this was probably why I delayed going in so long. Why I was not so much in a hurry to reschedule. Hypothyroidism runs very heavily in my family. My mother was diagnosed at 19. I feel lucky i made it to 34 without it. She did order an ultrasound just to be on the safe side but I had already had the full blood work panel done many times, as many as insurance would allow, including the thyroid studies. She is doubtful we will find anything. If I know my body that is a loaded statement. Never say that about my body. It will slap you upside the head. Any way further review of my blood work showed some of my problem areas were now hovering on the inside low area of normal. I will freaking take it. Potassium and Magnesium being the biggest of concern. She said the fact that they were so much higher without supplementation shows how much my diet has changed and improved. YAY. Juicing my fruits and veggies seems to really have done the trick.

The next thing we discussed is other preventative care that was coming up. They want to squish my boobies!!!! Next year it won’t even be a well if you want to have it done I will order it. No it will be part of my yearly physical. My little saggy baggy almost flat anyway stretched out from pregnancy and breastfeeding boobies. Smashed. I will get it done, I know how important it is. I am all for preventative care. I just am not really happy about it, ya know.

7 responses »

  1. #JuiceWin

    so happy to hear this was a pretty damn good appointment, and yay for improved blood panels! The boobie squish isn’t all that bad. I mean, it’s not great, but it’s pretty quick.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you did go! I’d been putting off the annual visit for quite some time and it just made things go from bad to worse! Luckily, I finally saw the light! 😀
    Glad things are overall better though lying there with legs on the stirrups with the alarm on must have been a huge ordeal…sorry for laughing as I read that!! 😀

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

