I have compassion, but not for them? #1000speak

Standard

When I watch T.V. I rarely just watch T.V. mindlessly. Recently I was watching a re-run of Criminal minds where Aaron Hodgner has a parent teacher conference about his son, Jack. He finds out the child his son has referred to as a friend and wanting this kid to come over and all the fifty million other requests that a child makes when they like someone, is actually picking on Jack. Jack has chosen to be the peacemaker and is set on making friends with this bully. I keep thinking about this. Every-time I read about bullying or hear about it, or see it! I am so thankful that 1000 speak compassion theme this month is on bullying.

slvzrcsvhlwyrd8pe1hd

One of the principles of Unitarian Universalism is that every person has inherent worth and dignity. I keep thinking about this and how it applies to bullies. Are we telling our kids that everyone has inherent worth and dignity, except bullies.  Really that except part, you can tack anything on. Is this really what we WANT to teach our children? Probably not. The fact is though, in many ways we are. Just sit with that a minute. Really turn over the words in your head and really think about it. It is a hard concept to wrap our brains around. When we look at why people bully; attention, power, to fit in we can perhaps wrap our mind around that. In my mind, once I accept that a person who is considered a bully does have inherent worth and dignity; it opens a door. A door to compassion. A door of seeing that person for a person. I fully understand there is a difference in bullying child to another child and a bullying adult to another adult. However the more I think about it the more I circle back that the best teacher my daughter has is me. What am I modeling to her? Am I modeling that I truly believe that every person has inherent worth and dignity or am I teaching her that there is an except (insert stereotype).

Let’s look at what does this mean exactly? What is inherent worth? Dictionary.com says that inherent means: existing in someone or something as a permanent and inseparable element, quality, or attribute. It says it is an adjective, a describing word. What does worth mean? Here again I went to Dictionary.com for a definition. This one was a bit more detailed. It can have a few different meanings.

preposition

1.good or important enough to justify (what is specified):

advice worth taking; a place worth visiting.   2.  having a value of, or equal in value to, as in money: This vase is worth 12 dollars.
3.having property to the value or amount of:They are worth millions.
noun

4.excellence of character or quality as commanding esteem:

women of worth. 5.usefulness or importance, as to the world, to a person, or for purpose:
Your worth to the world is inestimable. 6.value, as in money.  7.a quantity of something of a specified value:
ten cents’ worth of candy. 8.wealth; riches; property or possessions:net worth.
No where in there does it say that it is dependent on that person or even thing, to be good, nice, pleasant.  We could even go on to say that we are talking about; each person has an inseparable element,quality or attribute useful and important to the world.
When you take this and apply it to someone who is a bully. WOW. Mind blown! We have to stop and really look at that person as a person. They have some(or a lot) not so great aspects, but what about the good things? At first I was thinking, Well they are really good at being mean. So lets look at Toy Story, at the neighborhood kid Sid.  We could say he is really good at blowing up toys. He is really good at problem solving how to blow up toys. He is really good at deconstructing toys. How do we then apply that to real world things? Well repairmen have to be really good at deconstructing things. Chances are if you are really good at deconstructing you also understand how it is constructed. There is always something somewhere being constructed. Often we think of blowing things up as only bad.  The fact is though, there are plenty of things that require that kind of knowledge. We often blow up buildings to take them down when they have become a hazard or a danger to others. This is not even to mention all the science behind it, that can be applied in other areas.

Let me spin off here and tell you a little story:

Recently my daughter told me that one of her friends was not really treating her as a friend should. It was mostly mild things. Let’s call this friend, Ruth. Ruth was not letting Maggie play the game she wanted. The way she wanted. She would play with Maggie in before care but only until another friend came then they went off and played. There were a myriad of other little things like this. I discussed with Maggie that she needed to tell Ruth how she was feeling. That she needed to stand up for herself and say,” hey wait a minute, this isn’t right.” I told her Ruth may not like it. Ruth may say not nice things back to her. I then told her she didn’t need to believe any of those things. I reminded her that as long as Maggie was happy with Maggie then just let it roll off her. For days when I picked Maggie up I asked her did you talk to Ruth? No. Which led to more conversations about it being okay to be scared. It is a hard thing to do. However once you do stand up for yourself, you will feel so much better. I let it go. Her solution seemed to be to just go play somewhere else.

When our kids are younger we tell them to use their words. We then turn around and tell them if they don’t like how someone is playing to go play somewhere else. There is a missing link here. We would like to think all problems will be that easy. They are only three or four, they will have other friends, but is that really teaching them the best thing to do?Yes there does come a point and time where you do have to walk away. However we should be telling them to use their words first. Tell that other kid that you don’t like how they are playing. This is an essential tool they are going to need later in elementary and even beyond.

It happened one day. I think it was about a week after it first came up. Maggie got in the car and said.

” I did it! I told Ruth she was not being a friend to me. I feel really good about it Mommy! “

She was beaming from ear to ear. I responded with :

“I am so proud of you. What did Ruth say?”

Maggie says “Well at first she just kind of rolled her eyes and said whatever and walked away. But she came back a little later and said. I am sorry I have not been a nice friend. How can I make it better?”

Now this may not be typical in mainstream schools, as much as I wish it was. Maggie and Ruth are at a Montessori school. This is what they spent a whole semester in Kindergarten working on.

” See aren’t you glad you said something? Stood up for yourself?” I asked.

“Yes! and it was hard! It was really hard because I was afraid she would depart from me. I didn’t want to lose her as a friend but I decided to say something. And it worked!”

” So maybe tomorrow you can go to Ruth and ask her if there is anything she needs that you can help her with.”

This lead to more discussion. I explained to her that often bullies are bullies for attention or to feel better about themselves or even to fit in with others. We have to look beyond their behavior and see if we can find out why. I related it to when she gets over tired she gets sassy and cries easily. She is not a sassy girl but the underlying problem is that she was overly tired. To which she responded ” or when I have sugar and am all crazy and you say I am bouncing off the walls. ” Exactly. We can’t always do something about the underlying problem, like a sugar rush, but we can have compassion and show that. We discussed that if Ruth had said ” I am not being mean, I am a great friend.” that it would be time to walk away. It wouldn’t mean that Maggie didn’t care about Ruth anymore. We sometimes have people that we care about but are not really friends with anymore.

Now, it is also true that this is a very mild case of bullying. However if we are discussing this with our kids and actively helping them problem solve the little things. If we are demonstrating that we also do this in our lives with the people we interact with. I truly believe they will have the confidence to tackle the bigger things like showing compassion to bullies.

Your #1000speak Hosts are
http://1000speak.wordpress.com
Roshni AaMom
Kristi Rieger Campbell 
Crystal Cook
 Gene’o Gordon
Jen St Germain Leeman
Michelle Liew
Lisa Listwa
Pooja S Mulleth
Katie Paul
Lizzi Rogers
Yvonne Spence
T.A. Woods

AND MOST IMPORTANT HERE IS THE LINK TO LINK UP YOUR POST!!!!
SCRIPT!

14 responses »

  1. This is so awesome, Erin! It’s great that Maggie was eventually able to confront her friend and tell her how her actions hurt. You taught Maggie a wonderful lesson and she got to see firsthand that it is always best to give people the benefit of the doubt. I also believe that there is inherent worth inside everyone. Sometimes we all need a reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s an excellent instance to demonstrate the power of her words and hopefully, if there is ever another episode, she will know what to do! So glad you are talking about this with your child!

    Like

  3. Your post is similar in theme to mine – remembering that even those who bully need compassion. I had planned to write about times one of my daughters was bullied, but something else came out instead! It’s not easy when it happens, but is sounds as if you handled it really well. I especially like how you supported her when she wasn’t able to speak out, validating her feelings with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Two big points here, Erin – first, that it is important and maybe even necessary to understand that at the end of the day, a bull is still a human being and if we can find a way to empathize, to humanize, perhaps we can turn things around. Second, if we teach our kids how to handle the minor and small issues, they learn tools and skills for handling the big ones later.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this! You’re so exactly right, we say, “use your words,” for so many things and then we say, “walk away” for other things. It’s a double standard as much as teaching children that everyone has worth except _______ .

    Well written- and your daughter rocks my socks.

    Like

  6. Your daughter is so brave, and I know where she learned that! You are right and generous to remind us all that bullies are people, too.

    Like

  7. I’m glad the girls were able to have a discussion and come to a peaceful resolution. : ) I think a lot more education needs to be given around bullying. My daughter was bullied in kindergarten and we didn’t know what to do with all the new rules in school. If she fought back, she could get in trouble… using her words did nothing (I think the kid may have developmental / behavioural issues), so she shoved back really hard one day and made her point. With other kids, using her words has worked, so I’m always happy to hear others having the same results. If they learn what to do when they are young, it’s so much better in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So great to hear that your daughter was able to stand up and turn the situation around. I think catching these situations early and addressing them early – like you and your daughter did here – go a really long way to addressing problems and stopping them before they get bigger. Calling out the behaviour of the child who is behaving badly, letting them realize the impact it has on you, letting them think about and then offer to fix it before the situation gets too entrenched. Well done to everyone involved.

    I am never a fan of making the bully any less of a person in these situations – so yes, trying to see things from their perspective with an eye to helping both them and the bullied child is important. If that can help resolve situations, I think that’s the best way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Let me try and wrap my head around this Erin. I agree very much with you. We try to teach our kids that everyone has worth. It really IS hard to accept that about. bullies. I guess what we can say is that we value the bully as a person and human being who can relinquish his ways, but we do not value his actions.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

