I am only one

Standard

I often like to scroll through quotes.Anytime someone says “I have a quote,” I am instantly interested. Recently I heard two that have really stuck with me. Some people have been asking me why participate in #1000speak. The world is millions. So here is my response to that.

I am only one but still I am one.

I can not do everything but still I can do something

and  because I can not do everything I will not refuse to do the some thing I can do

Edward Everette Hale

Often we get overwhelmed by wanting to do everything. We get discouraged that we are not making a big a difference. We stop doing anything because what is the point. We forget the ripple effect.  So how do we keep going?

10513256_933687549989538_888164010619357692_n

Each morning we must hold out the chalice of our  being to receive , to carry and to give back

Dag Hammarskjold

We have to keep putting ourselves out there, this is true. We also have to remember to receive. I really like how that is the first part in this quote. When I combined these two quotes I find I can keep doing. I can give back because I was first able to receive.  Whatever energy I received and held on to ,  I am able to give back. Of course, that also means we have to pay attention to what kind of energy we are receiving.  Some things we receive and hold on to for years before giving back. Sometimes it is not always a good thing we hold on to. Sometimes we forgot we even received it to begin with.

Stay tuned for February 20th when 1000 voices speak for compassion.

One response »

  1. Pingback: I am only one | 1000 Voices Speak Up for Compas...

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

