Finding what works-Selfcare

Standard

I know some of you struggle to comprehend all that I do in a day. I get that. If you had asked me a year ago if I could do all this, my answer would have been no. If you had asked me five years if I would ever consider being a stay at home mom or work from home. My answer would have been hell no.  Things change. None of this has been easy. Change so rarely is easy. I am in no way a health professional. This is what works for me. Please talk with your health care provider before starting any of these.

It has been a while since I mentioned my toolbox. Things I use daily to make it through each day. Things I use to handle flares. The thing is, often it is hard to remember to use these tools. Where is writing it down helps. Revising it helps too. I wish we didn’t have to revise it. I wish we could just find what works and it just always works. This is what I am using now. It has been through trial and error I have found these. It has been through hours of googling I have found these. I urge you to do your own research on these and possibly get lost in Google once or twice.

Turmeric

I have played around with turmeric before.  I was looking more for immediate relief and that is not what you get with r. It is subtle. I almost wonder if it did not work as well because I was on script level pain meds already. Now I take two capsules in the morning. Two capsules after my walks. Sometimes if I am feeling extra achy I will take two at bedtime as well. There is great research behind turmeric. The great thing is it is basically a spice. I did notice when I could get the fresh turmeric root and juice it, I had better results. Maybe that is what helped because I only went back to the capsules after having juiced it for a month or two first. There is a few warnings with turmeric and you should not start it without first talking to your doctor. (see reference link)

L-lysine

A very common side effect of stress is cold sores. When your body is already stressed it does not take very much stress for me to get a cold sore. This is one that until recently I only took when I got the cold sores. It has now moved to the take every night category. Really it was not until I researched all the health benefits of L-lysine did I smack my forehead and say idiot you need this.

  • Supports the production of other proteins like enzymes, antibodies and hormones
  • Promotes bone health by increasing calcium absorption; prevents osteoporosis or weak bones by reducing bone loss
  • Helps convert fatty acids to energy, aiding in weight reduction
  • Helps lower bad cholesterol levels, thus reducing the risk for heart disease.
  • May be used to treat viral infections like herpes simplex, cold sores, shingles,human papilloma virus(HPV) infection such as genital warts, and genital herpes
  • Can relieve migraines and other types of pain and inflammation
  • When taken with other nutrients like vitamin C, it can reduce chest pains (angina) related to heart disease
  • Helps in muscle building, when taken with other amino acids like arginine

So yeah I found a renewed interest in making sure I take this daily.

Ginger

I mostly use this in my juices. I have however learned a new trick to use it in a natural version of sports water. Ginger is a lot like Turmeric. They are in the same family. The support each other so most of the time it is good to get them both. The days I don’t juice, I cook with ginger. I will warn you. It can be very spicy. The good news is, it is well tolerated by stomachs. The good news is, the more you build up your tolerance to it. The more you can take. I have yet to get capsule forms. It just has not been in the budget and fresh ginger is fairly cheap as you don’t need a full pound. I believe it is 2.99 a pound here. I get maybe a half a pound and that easily lasts a week and half if not more.

Melatonin

If you take anti-depressants of any kind, you probably need this.  The sleeping pill without being a sleeping pill. It is very person specific. Some people have really bizarre dreams. Some people it does nothing. What I ,personally, have found is , there is a magic number. When I first started taking it, I started with one mg pills. One mg for me was absolutely no effect. Well actually that is not entirely true. The first night I try anything I normally sleep like a rock. So I have to take one dose for several days before making a decision. I found eight mg worked for me. Well, for a while. We played with my meds and suddenly I needed to adjust it again. Start slow, stay at one dose for several days. There are different kinds as well. I don’t want to taste it so the quick melts are a no go for me.

Natural Calm at least once a week.

I have spoken of this marvelous drink many times. Many people with fibro tend to be low on magnesium. Magnesium can be used as a natural muscle relaxer. Seriously, you just have to try it once. I have used it for years now. A friend of mine used it to get through her pregnancy and breastfeeding un-medicated.

Juicing with  anti-inflammatory and depression in mind

There is lots to back this up. I,personally , have mal-absorption issues. Removing the fiber improves my absorption of that goodness. This was not something that first sip made a huge difference. I find that the days that I do make juice, I get more done. There is difference in opinion for juicing or smoothies. I think personally it depends on  how your  system works.

Prescriptions

Actually, no. I am not going to say which work for me and don’t work for me. This is again a very specific thing. What works for you, can cause all kinds of problems for me.  This is strictly something you need to discuss with your doctor.

Walking

Oh there are so many benefits of walking. I have worked slowly to build up on it. Be very gentle with yourself. Use a pedometer to measure your pace.  The first several months I was walking, my pace did not improve. Do not let this discourage you. Keep at it. When I started walking it was once every three days. I changed to every other day after over three months of once every three days. Often these walks were not more than twenty minutes. Start small and build on it. Sometimes a little encouragement goes a long way. Walk with a friend. Text a friend your pace and all the details, asking them only to respond positively.

water-   infused water-   lemon water-   natural sport drink mix

Drink it. Dehydration does so many things and so many symptoms are similar to Fibro symptoms.  Don’t care for plain water. Drink it hourly, one oz at a time. Fill a container with a fresh fruit you like, let sit overnight or longer. Fruit-infused water.  Lemon water can help tired sore muscles, squirt some lemon in your water! I recently discovered adding a pinch of pink Himalayan sea salt and lemon in a water bottle and letting it sit overnight. I also add ginger,skinned, to boost muscle pain relief. Let me tell you, it does not taste good when you first start. After sweating and walking, it tastes amazing! No sugar, no extra sodium, by using sea salt you are adding back micro-minerals you lost in sweat.

self hypnosis-guided meditation- deep breathing

I will tell you, it takes practice. I fall asleep-hence the hypnosis. Go on you-tube, listen. Listen to multiple ones. I will tell you there are some voices that will set your hair on end. There are ones that make me think of nails on a chalkboard. There are whispers. There are ones that are really loud. Notice how your body reacts to their voice. One bit of advice, what is endurable during the day; may not be what helps at night. Listen to it both times. There are ones specifically for anxiety and depression. You don’t have to believe them the first time, its more of a repetition thing. I don’t want to hear that you have tried meditation until you have listened to at least fifty sessions, same for the others. Trust me, I started and stopped over and over and over. It took a long time before it became a regular nightly thing for me. The neat thing is, if you have trouble falling asleep, you will reprogram your brain. It took six to eight weeks for me. I often hear less than five minutes of whatever meditation/hypnosis I choose.

References

http://www.md-health.com/Turmeric-Side-Effects.html

http://www.md-health.com/L-Lysine-Benefits.html

http://www.arthritistoday.org/what-you-can-do/eating-well/arthritis-diet/ginger-benefits.php

http://sleepfoundation.org/sleep-topics/melatonin-and-sleep

http://naturalvitality.com/natural-calm/

https://juicerecipes.com/health-conditions/juicing-for-depression/

http://www.juicingjuice.com/home/10-delicious-anti-inflammatory-juice-recipes/

http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Walking_for_good_health

2 responses »

  1. A close friend also uses Red Marine Algae to help control cold sores. As long as he keeps taking it, he never gets an outbreak. I’m not sure if it’d work for you, but it’s worth looking into maybe.

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

