My little activist in the making

Standard

My daughter’s anxiety level has been rising. I knew she needed a good snuggle time. It is one of the parts of chronic pain that annoys me, the lack of snuggling I can do.  Last night I knew she needed it more than I needed less pain.

She came in to my room in the middle of a Law and Order SVU episode. This is not something I normally let her watch with me. This episode though dealt with some humanitarian issues.  I had made a promise to myself recently. I needed to stop sheltering her quite so much from reality.  I am not turning down NPR as often as I used to. My response now is not always , ” That is not something you need to worry about.”  So we discussed women being forced into marriage. We discussed how other governments are not run like ours. They do not protect the people like ours do.  We discussed how in the end the woman got  her papers to stay legally in the United States but refused. She knew it was possible to get justice now.  I was really impressed with her understanding of the basic concepts. I was also really impressed I could carry on such a conversation at seven thirty at night. Where did THAT brain come from? The episode ended.  I decided that was enough of that kind of talk.  We switched to Animal Planet.  In an attempt for mindless tv for the last half hour.

We succeeded with mindless TV for the most part. We were watching Call of the Wildman.  There was the commercial for Redwood Kings.  A fairly new show on Animal Planet.

” I don’t like that show. They are mean people. Those are rare special trees and they are cutting them down. That hurts the animals and the trees and everyone. It is not very nice.” My daughter comments.

I am slightly baffled that she knows so much about Redwoods. I am slightly baffled that she has come to this conclusion on her own. I am not really sure why it baffled me. She has always been a highly sensitive person.  She has always been very nature oriented.

Somehow I found myself back in heavy conversation with her about this.  I found that she had found out about Redwoods through National Geographic. Of course, she did. I know she is constantly on that website. She watches full length documentaries from there. She loves reading the magazine itself.  Of course, she would know about them.

Then just like that, she is on to a new subject.

“Mommy know that stuff that comes in a can that you turn upside down and its all white and fluffy and airy.”

” No, no I don’t.”

” Sometimes people put cherries on top.”

” Oh whipped cream.”

“Yeah I wish we had some whipped cream.”

I turned off the TV and we snuggled down into bed.  She may only be nine years old but, I see a budding activist in her.

 

4 responses »

  1. omg i love that kid. thanks for distracting me from my panic attack about my stupid little crisis that is nothing like Redwoods and whipped cream. Send her a snuggle from Aunty Chrissy.

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

