LET ME OUT… Aka Week Six of Summer Break

Standard

I really don’t know what to say. It has been a whirlwind. I am ready for a break and I think this week we actually slowed down quite a bit. Its not all bad but the days are super long and tiring.  Its hard to balance what the kid wants to do, needs to do with what I want to do and what I need to do.  Its not entirely different from what happens during the school year. I just seem to have less patience, its probably the heat. It takes it out of you when its ninety something by nine am and still in the nineties at eight pm. Between normal housework stuff, chronic illness stuff, and kid meltdown stuff , it gets a bit overwhelming. Never fear though, I wouldn’t change a thing.  So here is what actually happened this past week:

Sunday July Six.

10485191_725459097501930_1591024912_n                                     10529706_725459074168599_1362243746_n

Blissful kidless morning. Church… and more kid free time in the afternoon. I would say it was blissful but Saturday night I slept horrible. I mean horrible, like I would have preferred a screaming baby horrible. I came home from church. I looked at the dishes and the cleaning that needed to be done. I laid down on the bed. I barely remember pulling the covers over me. I woke a few hours later and basically went to the bathroom, took a sip of milk and was out again. The vibration from my phone woke me up. The kid was on her way home.  Luckily the hubby was able to make dinner and do most of the parenting. The kid did hang out on the bed with me but I was not NOT up to getting out of bed.  It did not help that there has been a storm cell that brewed, growing and shrinking growing and shrinking in the ocean, it finally let down and rained.  Once it started raining I started feeling more and more normal. I woke up with that all over skin sensitive sensation , nothing can touch it without intense pain, and an anxiety attack.  Oh good just in time for bedtime.

10408100_725489774165529_8168915565282407261_n                             10483126_725458480835325_1564756931_n

I am thankful I have friends that understand and help when and where they can. Believe it or not this type of crash is actually a good thing… it means the flare I have been dealing with is finally really truly curving off.

Monday July Seven

Three mile walk to cleaning job about killed me. The kid read her book. Then it was a flurry of activity to get ready for the car. Housework to burn some nervous energy. I am really proud I did not have a panic attack. We got the car and I actually had to pull over and have the panic/anxiety attack from not having one prior to getting the car.

10491206_726151730766000_1754984124341508273_n

Tuesday July eight

The weight did not come off until we walked out of the DMV with the tag and title now in my name. I needed to just relax. We had so much time to kill as it took way less than expected. We went and checked out the Rookery as we had never gone when it was early morning. We thought maybe the bird behavior would be different. It wasn’t much. We went to Panera and had celebratory bagels and I got a big honking Sweet tea.

10516809_726505270730646_1628953042381163242_n

We then headed to the library. When the kid points out a park we have not been to in almost two years. Mom can we check that out? Do we still have time? SURE!  It amazes me the changes we saw.  We even saw deer hoof prints. The kid tried out her tracking skills and declared they were fresh. Works for me, I have no clue.

IMG_20140708_095341_788-EFFECTS

So then we go off to the library. GUESS WHAT???? I had the wrong library on my calendar. The one the Rainforest puppet show was at? Twenty minutes away. How much time did we have? Oh, it starts two minutes ago. I debated not going. It was not even an option for the kid. Of course we were going. Man. It was AMAZING. It was wonderful. She talked about conservation, She talked about endangered animals, loss of habitat, what the rainforest provided the Earth as a whole. She was captivating. She used Portuguese and Spanish words for the animals and colors. She talked about the cultural of the people who live in and around the rainforest.

10460506_726505074063999_5996431341715008293_n

We decided we were not ready to go home. We wanted to explore the area like we were going to when our old car broke down. We found a new park. Oh man did we find a new park.

We are going back at a better time. Better time being early morning to beat some of the heat as eleven thirty am is NOT the time for a hike in Florida in July. We still saw some cool things, tortoise, eagle nest, iguana(huge lizard, not sure exactly on type)

10351811_726505027397337_5948088347047982466_n 10411092_726504907397349_7800038448929155377_n

We didn’t exactly have hiking shoes on. No worries. I survived plenty of barefoot summers in Florida. The kid was really into it and we had a whole conversation about Earthing.

Wednesday July nine

It dawned on me that all the walking we have done since the car breaking down almost three weeks ago, has been with intent. It was fine as a change up for a week. Walking is my stress relief. Walking in nature more so.  This dawned on me late Tuesday night. I immediately made plans to go to a park for a hike Wednesday morning. I had a hard time falling asleep Tuesday night because I was so excited. It was nothing short of magical.

IMG_20140709_081541_196-EFFECTS

It was beyond exactly what I needed.  We saw a total of eleven deer.  A hawk  landed in the tree right next to us. We saw two wild pigs.  Magical.

We came home ate lunch and rested. There was a snake and reptile show at the library. I felt good enough I thought. Its just an hour.

So wrong.  Bedtime started at four pm.  Of course it was hubby’s game night so dinner and all that crap was on me.  Somehow I made it.

Thursday July ten

Math tutoring day.  We were off and running. While recording her math tutor lesson, I wrote out her writing prompt instructions for the day. I am really happy to say she is really starting to enjoy her math lessons and is gaining better understanding each week!

We were off and running hubby to the ortho doctor…. checking on his thumb. While he did that, we went to the natural food store. We have been out of Natural Calm and DHA/Omega3 supplement. It was obvious we needed it STAT this morning.  They had samples. Most of the samples made me happy. One I wanted to try had corn oil in it. True it was Non-GMO but I don’t think my corn intolerance really cares about that part of the corn.  The kid worked on her writing while we were sitting in the car waiting for hubby to be done.  We decided on Burger King for a special treat for lunch.

THEN we had family naptime.

It was mostly rest time the rest of the day.  The kid finished her writing. She also had to get her hour reading session in.

Friday July eleven

Someone really must have given me crack or something. I agreed to take hubby to work and then thought since I will be up, we should go on another early morning hike. I have to say…. it paid out.

IMG_20140711_070429-EFFECTS     IMG_20140711_073325_748 IMG_20140711_082754

Towards the end of the hike she was getting irritable and tired and cranky. I thought about tossing her in the bay….. instead I just tickled her and said ALLIGATOR. To which she ran ahead in a fit. Ahhhh Silence…. Oh I mean… yeah…that probably wasn’t nice.

IMG_20140711_092150_981

The insanity started at Target. I know I know. It was not their fault though. Insurance was being super weird and stupid and thus, waiting another week for medication. Paid a Doctor Bill, always a big occasion.  Home for lunch and rest time. The kid had Math to do. I had a church meeting to go to. She sat in the other room and read her book, mostly.  A quick very sucessful trip for a birthday present for the party we go to Friday.  The rest of the day, rest. I am trying to remember just because I am feeling better doesn’t mean that a Flare can’t happen.  I am trying to remember it is better to pace myself, and her. That resting is productive for the chronically ill.

Saturday July Twelve

I had hoped to go to the beach first thing in the morning. Morning came and neither the husband nor I were really feeling it. We were not feeling like doing much of anything. After all isn’t that what Saturday mornings are about. So we have just been loafing around the house.

Later we will go to a friends house to celebrate their son’s eighth birthday. The kid and him are eleven months and two weeks apart. Yes we figured that out! It’s hard to believe our sweet little babies are getting so big.  They really need to stop growing so fast.

2 responses »

  1. I’m kind of jealous of your daughter’s library trips! The conservation/science events sound so cool. We have a good library here but I don’t believe we have that kind of thing going on there – we have some similar (for pay) events hosted elsewhere.

    I hope your recent flare really is ending. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

