Must be nice to lay in bed all day

Standard

I think this is the number one comment that drives me nuts.It must be nice to lay in bed all day…to stay in bed…..and things to that effect. If you are just lazying about and can get up and down whenever you want without the slightest hindrance…..maybe. If you have no problem being upright when you need to move because you are getting sore from laying in the same position…..maybe.If that is all you are planning on doing and you are pushing things aside because you WANT to …..maybe.

I really struggle with the whole resting part of chronic illness. I know I need to. I know my flares would be less. I just have never been very good at doing nothing. I struggled for awhile trying to balance not working , saving energy to parent after school and having a life. If I stay home and rest, it is really hard to get up and moving after getting the kid because I expelled more energy than I realized trying to rest. I am home so I should be doing dishes, or laundry, or getting the kid’s room organized again. Maybe I could reorganize the pantry. I could even sit in a chair for most of it. For the record that is not resting.  I can’t sleep during the day if I want to be able to sleep at night, so a nap is out of the question.

When I do force myself to take a rest day and stay in bed. It helps. Imagine that. It may take me eighteen hours or so of resting to be able to function again but I can function again! The trick is not to go crazy and clean the house and do to much and exhaust myself all over again. This is where pacing comes in , another area that I am not so good at.

It is a constant battle though to keep myself in bed because I know thats what my body needs. The guilt starts to eat at you that the house is falling apart. That you can’t keep up the house because your body requires so much rest. If I did clean the house and push myself then I often have nothing left to do anything with my daughter after school, again the guilt.

When I say I need to stay in bed all day, it is not a luxury. It is a requirement. It is not one that I admit to and concede to often. When I do it is serious. I have probably pushed myself for too many days in a row.  I am better at forcing myself to take these rest times or days. I still have progress to be made here.  I still need to let go of the guilt. I still need to stop while I am ahead. When people say this to me I struggle to be nonchalant about it. I try to just shrug it off and not let them know how hard it is.

4 responses »

  1. I know exactly what you are saying. People say that to me all the time. Must be nice to not have to work. Must be nice to stay in bed all day. UH NO, I’m not quite ready to be bed bound for the rest of my life, but my body makes that decision and it sucks. I would much rather get up and have a job to go to and be a productive citizen of society, you know be around people, do something productive, make some money to contribute to the family, have enough money to pay the bills, etc. NO, WE DO NOT ENJOY IT, PEOPLE! I’m permanently disabled, not cool at my age, just sayin…………………………………

    Like

  2. How incredibly rude of someone to say that! Would they say it must be nice to sit around all day ofnsomeone with no legs? Rest . Isn’t a choice when it comes to physical health….you’re making an energy investment for the next day.

    Like

  3. This is when audiobooks come in so handy. When your mind is racing, but your body needs rest. For me, if I listen to audiobooks, I’m not thinking about the eleventy billion things I didn’t do, I’m just listening to some nice person reading me a story, and then usually, especially lately: zzzZzzZZZZzzz

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

