Know what you are taking

Standard

I can not stress this enough. It happens often enough that I am talking with another person who has chronic conditions and we get to the subject of medications. This is including supplements and herbal supplements. Nothing irks me more than people who A. don’t know what they are taking or B. Don’t know why they are taking it or C. Tell me that a medication does not work for such and such because of personal experience.There is one thing I have found that chronic illness/pain patients like to discuss it is medication , what works and what doesn’t. Keep in mind when you have these discussions that each person is different. At the very base we are speaking about chemical reactions inside the body. The conditions are not going to be the same for everyone. 

You don’t know what you are taking? Seriously? It doesn’t seem the least bit important to you that you know what you are putting in your body? What the side effects are? What possible interactions there are? The reasoning well my doctor prescribed it does not hold water for me. I have seen and been on the receiving end of doctors who did not really listen and prescribed the wrong medicine. To be fair, sometimes it is the patient who has not clearly explained the symptoms or hasn’t told them they are on other medications. I know brain fog can be thick, so write down your meds. Keep it in your wallet. I get that we can’t always name every medication we are on off the top of our heads. I can’t always do that. I inevitably leave one or two or more off. I keep a list in my wallet as does my husband. 

Then there are those who know what they are taking but not why they are taking it. This seems just as dangerous to me. There are some medications that do only one thing, but there are more that can treat multiple things. This is especially true when it comes to mental health medications. Some can treat both anxiety and depression. Some treat only anxiety. Some treat only depression. It is important to know why you are taking one medication over another one. If I am suffering from severe depression chances are ativan and xanax are not really going to help me because they are geared more heavily towards anxiety. Often though when you have depression you need something that also treats anxiety and visa versa. Research your medications. Sometimes I have to go back and look up medications I am on,because I don’t remember what exactly they are treating. Often times when you have multiple chronic illnesses one medication will cover multiple issues. Which makes knowing why you are taking it even more important.

Last is the people that state what a medication does purely from their personal experience with it. Often this is accompanied by well it won’t work for that. Actually sometimes you do take a medication for reasons other than what it was manufactured to cover. Medications that work for me for certain things may not work for you for the same things. We both may have issues with water retention but take different medications. It does not mean one of our doctors is wrong. It means that our body didn’t respond to that particular medication or that my water retention stems from a different cause  than yours. Although commonly I find this directed more at mental health medications, again. 

This is not a knowledge that I walked into chronic illness having. It has been something I have developed between being bounced from doctor to doctor, being told one thing and then another. I finally got to the point that I would research the symptoms and the medications that could be prescribed. This results in me walking into an appt with an idea of what I want prescribed, if anything, and why. I use a variety of sites for this research and go from there, not taking one source as being the only truth. Sometimes I run into sites that I just don’t understand what they are saying. Skip that one and go to the next site. Google will give you lots to choose from. 

Like I said I can’t stress this enough, Know what you are taking and why. Read the pamphlets that the pharmacy gives you if nothing else! 

 

3 responses »

  1. I am so glad to hear from so.with e else that is bloggers by this as mg h as me. Might I add to the list people who return from their Dr appt and tell you they don’t know what’s wrong with them but they got these pills, and no, they don’t know what pills they are or what they’re for…….ugh!!!!

    Like

  2. I am so glad to hear from someone else that is bothered by this as much as me. Might I add to the list people who return from their Dr appt and tell you they don’t know what’s wrong with them but they got these pills, and no, they don’t know what pills they are or what they’re for…….ugh!!!!

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

