Pacing is a must

Standard

It is a must! As in not an option.

Sometimes pacing is:

Take the stuff out of the dryer. put the washer to the dryer .new stuff in the dryer…and lay down. Sometimes you have to lay down the entire 60 minutes that the laundry is going.

Sometimes it is setting an alarm for fifteen minutes and chipping away at the housework then setting an alarm for thirty minutes of rest.

What is not pacing is what I tend to do…..

Get up take the kid to school go clean a house, go to lunch with a friend hit the grocery store pick up the kid, come home make dinner, get the kid to do homework and take a shower and read and get in bed. At which point I collapse into bed in an exhausted pile of goo. Brain function left somewhere around dinner time. I may be ready eleven hours later to maybe contemplate getting up to take the kid to school. Maybe.

Then there are days like yesterday

I got up got the kid to school, even packed her a lunch, came home, RESTED for about an hour, then did some work on the church facebook page, got up moved laundry along, sprayed down the shower with limescale remover and a dash of bleach to the tough area, set the timer for twenty minutes, did some dishes, rinsed shower off when timer went off, RESTED for about twenty minutes or so, ATE lunch, a good balanced lunch, Did the floors, went to church meeting where even though thinking was involved it was two hours of sitting, worked on church facebook page a bit more for twenty minutes, went and got the kid from school, sat in the field while the kids played for a bit, picked up the husband, went to have frozen yogurt, went to target(where i kicked it with cartwheel) and then we went to a friends house where sitting and relaxing and talking happened, then home for dinner shower and bed. I really don’t think I was awake any more at 745. However I put my bedtime at 815 because I responded to a text then.

It was busy, It was productive but there was lots of resting times worked into it. I didn’t feel overworked or burnt for more than ten minutes at any point. I RESTED.

I would love if my days looked more like this. Productive busy but also a lot of self care worked into it.

Of course even that might have been pushing my boundaries a bit as this morning was spent mostly in bed,sleeping, however that could also easily be my med changes because I added prozac yesterday. Hard to tell which.

As a mother it is hard for me to work in self care. To schedule it into my day. It is a must , it needs to happen. Pacing is self care. It really is. I found if I scheduled it, I had less guilt about it. I was sticking to my schedule, nothing was being put off. If you have to …schedule it. Pacing is just as important as remembering to take your medications, get that bloodwork done, go to the doctors.

 If you have to, wake up earlier so that you can get up, get dressed, lay back down. get up take pills, drink coffee, lay back down. Believe me I have done this. I have been there. Days where even just standing up is exhausting.  At one point I was taking my morning medications when my husband had to go to work, at 545 am and then going back to sleep so when the kid got up at 630 I had a chance of actually being able to get up with her.

The more time we take to balance what we are doing with resting , the more productive we are.  It takes time and dedication but you can increase how long you are able to be productive. At one point twenty thirty minutes was my max before I would crash and need to rest for often hours, now I can get away with a fifteen to thirty minute rest most of the time.

Of course for those of us with multiple chronic illnesses there is only so much you can prepare for , however pacing is still just as essential, almost more so. I know I can keep my fibro pretty happy between meds, supplements, pacing and resting.  Degenerative disc tends to like to listen to barometric pressure changes more than me. However if I have been diligent with meeting my fibro needs, the degnerative disc flares are easier to handle and often less intrusive than they could be. All bets are off when IBS flares though, nothing makes that monster happy. I know how to manage it and I know when I am cheating on managing it , I will pay. It has a way of making you pace yourself though, only so much can get done between running to the bathroom.

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

