Yule…..It’s probably not what you think.

Standard

First of all I have nothing against Christians.  I do  however have a problem with trying to deny the history of a holiday because it doesn’t match your beliefs.I may loose followers over this. That is okay with me. Its something I have given a lot of thought about. I have a major pet peeve. When people tell me to keep Christ in Christmas or say I won’t say Happy Holidays I will say Merry Christmas. You have just told me my opinion and my beliefs don’t matter to you. AT all.

This also doesn’t mean I don’t have Christian friends. I do. I have my beliefs they have theirs. We even sometimes debate points. We do it with respect. Respect of others beliefs and an open mind. I enjoy a good intellectual debate as long as we part as friends. No one takes offense.  I truly enjoy having friends with different beliefs than mine. It reminds me to remain open. To remain respectful.

So with that said. Here is the why.

Many people know that Christmas actually has its roots in Wicca and Pagan beliefs, many don’t bother to find out the details. It is witch craft. It must be shunned. This is exactly the attitude that continued to drive me away. It wasn’t one person or one experience. I wouldn’t say I am atheist either but I won’t just blatantly disregard information or science either.

There are many that will tell you Jesus Christ was not born in December. They may even know who started Christmas. To the best of my understanding it was the Roman Catholics who vehemently disagreed with Saturnaila. I understand why they disagreed with it. Basically it was/is against everything the Roman Catholic Church taught/teaches. They would only see the orgy part of it. The drinking in excess part of it. The nudity. Yeah I get it.

While Saturnaila is not the only thing celebrated at that time of the year. Winter Solstice is too. A festival of inner renewal. Based on Pagan god and goddess as well. Which actually speaks to me in ways I never realized. I always even as a child envisioned God as a female and a male. It made sense to me. Mistletoe and evergreens enter here as well. I can truly say that when I read about what is now Winter Solstice I was like yes.. That ..that is what I feel. I know for the most part it is a blend of traditions. Yule most likely is rooted in Norse Pagan Gods. Which most people that I have spoken to about this didn’t know. Pagan equaled Celtic or Druids to them. Not understanding that those are separate things. The lack of understanding is not the issue. If you don’t know that’s fine. Its the assumptions that I have an issue with and the decided decision to not learn about it at all. Again this is just what I personally have come across.

So excuse me if I role my eyes very hard when people say keep Christ in Christmas. I am totally and completely okay with you celebrating Christmas your way. Please don’t try and make me celebrate it the same way as you do. I respect that the symbols used now mean different things to you then they do me. I actually find that aspect very beautiful.

I refreshed my memory from these articles..

1.http://wicca.com/celtic/akasha/yule.htm

2. http://www.circlesanctuary.org/index.php/education/celebrating-the-seasons.html

3. http://www.simpletoremember.com/vitals/Christmas_TheRealStory.htm

4.http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/december-solstice-customs.html

13 responses »

  1. Sweetie, as a Asatru woman, can I just say THANK YOU!
    I, like you, have many Christian friends and yes, we enjoy discussing and learning from each other. But they also know we celebrate Yule and Twelfth Night. We honor the Disir, our female Ancestors, Mother Frigga, and see the mistletoe as something sacred to Baldar. We have a tree, but it’s a representation of Yggdrasil, the World Tree.
    We exchange gifts, we celebrate the bounty of the year gone by, and we make plans for the year ahead.
    We do all this with love and the spirit that should permeate the season, family, gratitude, and giving. Thank you for giving here! *hugs*

    Like

    • Thank you sweetie…..I think people are surprised the most about the christian friends. Last time I counted there are three with pastoral degrees.
      It is extremely hard to go against what you are spoonfed to believe your whole life that didn’t ever mesh with your inner feelings. Some people understand that. Some dont. Thank you for your comment! Love and light

      Like

  2. If I recall, and I could be wrong, Saturnalia was actually started as a festival for the old gods of Rome, not Roman Catholics. I took Latin for 4 years, we didn’t learn a bit of Latin (except that I know that urinator means deep sea diver – and I found that in my Latin dictionary; and “Where is the big ass ham, again, self-taught).

    Instead we watched a bunch of movies (like A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum) and studied culture and mythology. No surprise when she got fired after I graduated.

    My understanding, it was to thank Saturn for the Harvest and slaves would have a banquet feast as a repayment for any deaths or harm. Children would play games involving Saturn’s wife, Ops.

    Roman Catholics did take parts of the 2 week festival and feasts, as time went on, they extended the feasts. You know those Romans, they loved being gluttons :). The festival became close to December 23rd, and in 3rd and 4th century they adaptedany of those aspects to what we know as Christmas.

    But I completely agree with you. I always say Happy Holidays. I’ve had religion forced on me by über-religious neighbors as a child. The mother actually came to my house and stood in front of my mother and I and told is that I was going to hell because I was a heathen for not being a good Christian Child. That kind of stuff scars you (and scares you when you’re only 5 years old!) The. There were other people from my old church who kept telling me they’d pray for me when I stopped going. Here’s the thing. The priest at the church is a very good family friend. My mom, before her aneurysm, played the organ there. HE didn’t care that I stopped going. As long as I believed in something and was educated on every possibility when I made my decision, he was ok with it. He was like a father figure to my brother and I, after my dad left my mom. So his opinion meant a lot to me.

    Oh!!! And my other gripe! People who say there’s a war on Christmas. No. There isn’t. People are just choosing to celebrate it the way they desire, as it’s their right to do. That’s the end of my rant 😀

    Like

    • yes Saturnaila..yes I got a bit…um..unwordy..lol.. Christmas was started by the Roman Catholics because they disapproved of Saturnaila..sorry if that caused confusion.

      Yes.. So true.. No war on Christmas…

      I agree with the trauma…especially at five..My parents actually left a church because of that. The horror was it was actually said to my sister by the pastor.

      Like

  3. Thank you for this! I, too, roll my eyes when I see thw whole “keep christ in christmas” and just keep walking, scrolling wherever I’m at. I consider in this age of information, ignorance is no longer ignorance, it’s a choice to close your mind and see no other perspective but your own, plain and simple. I’m glad that you have put it out there, your perspective, and pointing out that there are many with different beliefs and being able to debate/discuss them as friends with respect can be an easy thing to do; but one that many a person will shy away from. Yule Blessings from me to you. Have a wonderful holiday season!

    Like

    • I can understand your perspective here. It’s amazing how many people (especially Christians) don’t even realize that Paganism is alive and well. I recently sent a letter to an Anglican Priest who seemed unaware of this. However, for Christians, looking at information that would contradict their beliefs would give them a real problem (I speak as an ex-Christian). Some just can’t handle the information at all – too challenging. I’m not a Pagan, but on an individual path (with Buddhist meditation).

      Like

  4. The truth is, many Christians (not ALL, of course, and maybe not even MOST, but A LOT) really DON’T care about the beliefs of others. Part of their belief system is that, even if they can’t get you to believe as they do, they need to get you to live as though you believe as they do. Hence, “I will say Merry Christmas to you even if I know for a fact if you are Jewish.” I Celebrate Christmas, but I’m not Christian… and I think it is important to be respectful of EVERYONE’s beliefs!

    Like

    • very true.. the narrow mindness of that thought process was another reason I left.. I know not ALL believe this way and I know the ones that are open minded are annoyed by the ones that do. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  5. Thanks for the great links! I celebrate Christmas but I read about your yule/solstice celebration on instagram and was mesmerized. As one of Celtic descent who is deeply influenced by the amount of daylight, I am considering adding some of these celebrations to my December calendar. I don’t see a conflict in celebrating both……

    Like

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

