Simply sleep

Standard

Sleep.

So simple.

Lay down, close your eyes….and it happens.

574642_564684826889814_1857323063_n

Except when it doesn’t.

The first night it’s not so bad.

A little extra coffee.

A little extra soda later on.

I got this.

So, because I didn’t sleep so good last night and I have been tired all day, I will sleep really good tonight!

Then sleep laughed and laughed and laughed and laughed.

Sleep and I have come to an agreement.

Well, mostly.

Sometimes sleep likes to throw a wrench in here and there.

First, you need to read about sleep loss and how to correct it.

Read several different sources.

I can not tell you what will work for you.

I can only tell you what works most nights for me.

Even then, I only get two or sometimes three hours of sleep at once.  Sometimes I can roll over and go back to sleep.  Sometimes not.

Normally, I start by winding myself down around four pm. Mentally.

That goes as it does most days. By four pm I start THINKING about sleeping. Sometimes it’s like, “Why is it not bedtime?” Sometimes it is like, “Ooh, it’s four pm! Need to start winding down for bedtime.” TELL YOUR BRAIN BEDTIME IS COMING. I don’t know why it works. It just does. For me.

Around five or five thirty, I take 5mg of melatonin.

Melatonin is really tricky. It seems so easy. My 5mg may knock you out for days. I suggest getting a bottle of 1mg, and increasing until you find your magic number. I didn’t and started at ten mg. It DID work. I just happened to find by chance months later that 8mg split up over time was my magic number.

Then, I either take a magnesium supplement or drink Natural Calm typically around six. Magnesium is a natural muscle relaxer, and with fibromyalgia that is not a bad thing at all.

After dinner, mostly at seven thirty though, I take my heart meds, Benedryl and an additional 3mg of melatonin.

For the most part, the husband does bedtime – for the most part.  It is harder to keep track of time and meds/supplements when I am doing it. It IS possible though. It’s not always important the actual time, as opposed to the distance of time between meds. Kinda like stepping down a staircase.

So… where was I? I got distracted by the judgey little squiggly line…

So last is around eight pm – my Ativan and aspirin. If it’s a really bad day, Tylenol gets tossed into the mix.

Like I said, it’s crazy. It’s not for everyone. It’s what works for me.

Some nights I have forgotten completely, or I am out and about and then it’s TAKE ALL THE PILLS and hope for SLEEP.

931391_610532188971744_2003035636_n

Then there are nights that no matter how much I tried, how much I continue to try, sleep is an elusive butterfly that will NOT STAY STILL FOR ONE SECOND.

I have learned I can go without a lot more sleep than I ever thought possible.

So read up on insomnia from several different sources. Read about insomnia with not being able to fall asleep. Read about insomnia without being able to stay asleep. Read about what happens when you have both.  Read scientific articles, read holistic articles, read it all.  What resonates with you? What can you incorporate into your life?

ALSO BEFORE YOU START ANY SUPPLEMENT EVER, TALK TO YOUR DOCTOR.  I am not your doctor. The pharmacist is not your doctor, although they can be your friend.

I also crank the AC down to 70 and have two fans going…..I like it cold…but I also like to wear long sleeves and pants to bed and bury myself under at least a sheet a blanket and a quilt….at least…

Then there are the pillows. I like lots of them. Four is sufficient. But I mostly sleep with five and then a body pillow folded in half as well. All behind my head.

I have post nasal drip as a constant companion. It does not like to let me breathe if I lay down. SOOOOO at least a 45 degree angle most of the time.  Which also explains the Benedryl at night.

When you know what your OPTIMUM sleeping environment is, you can take steps to rule out what is keeping you from sleep or keeping you from staying asleep.

It becomes a little check list just like the one you had when the kid was a newborn. Could it be this? No we did that. Could it be that? No I did that.

Sometimes Sleep is just a bastard and you won’t find what is missing. Mostly though, I know what happened.

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

