Pie…..enough said.

Standard

Theme_Small_Oct_2013

Friday, October 11, 2013
Pumpkin or apple pie at Thanksgiving (or choose any fall holiday)? Do you have a family recipe?

Last year we went to San Diego California. My sister had just had a baby. I flew alone with a six and half year old. EEEEEK. Actually it wasn’t that bad. Lots of things happened in those two weeks.  My daughter got to see her cousin, she got to play in real snow, and fly in airplanes too. I also got a taste of home schooling during those two weeks. First grade teaching is soooooo not for me.

So one day we decided to go check out  Julian. Mainly because my sister suspected there would still be snow there.

301815_393921830652621_1149496288_n 549435_393921540652650_1821376061_n 552825_393921687319302_1319114714_n

Oh and they have awesome apple pie.

When I say awesome. I mean out of this world oh my god this should be a sin to be this good Apple pie.

I had only recently discovered that If it was a well made pie….I liked apple pie. I can’t tell you what it is. I can just tell you in one bite if its an apple pie I will eat. Remember I am an apple snob…it totally applies to apple pies as well.

moms-pies-julian-california_10_0

http://www.momspiesjulian.com/locations

Of course no pie is ever complete without ice cream.  They have this AMAZING Cinnamon Ice cream. It was just the right mix. Add it on top of a bubbling hot slice of freshly made Dutch Apple Pie…..HEAVE ON EARTH.

Its been over a year since we were there now and I still crave this combo. I won’t lie. I looked into having the pie and ice cream shipped. IT IS THAT GOOD.

156528_393922620652542_1849035650_n

So here is the rules…..It has to be fresh…It has to be hot….even if you choose to have pumpkin pie..which Thanksgiving is not complete without.  Pumpkin Pie is required to be hot also it  requires whipped cream and ice cream….yes both of them. It is acceptable to only have ice cream with Apple Pie.  Breyers does make an acceptable alternative to the cinnamon ice cream we had. My only problem is it is not available all year round and I crave it allll the time. Not just during the holidays.

So that my friends is my opinion on what kind of pie.

Are you interested in what all this NaBloPoMo is all about? Check it out.

http://www.blogher.com/blogher-topics/blogging-social-media/nablopomo

5 responses »

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

