The changed meaning of Summer Break.

Standard

Remember when we counted down the days left of school? Summer vacation was coming! No school! YES!! YES!!! YES!!!

There was a certain glee on walking out of class that last day of school. Time to party! Time to RELAX! Time to have FUN!

Tear up the papers! Throw out the books! Drag the backpack behind you!

Hello sunscreen! Hello beach towels! Hello sun hats! Don’t forget the aloe!

Image

 

As a Floridian…it was all about how long we could stay at the beach and then when high summer hit it was how long could we stay in the mall.  It could never last long enough. It was always too soon to go back to school.

Now its more like the count down to when my daughter goes back to school starts. 86 days but who’s counting? ME! ME! ME!

Its not that I don’t enjoy spending time with her. I adore it. However I know I can only do so much a day and she is like the energizer bunny. She keeps going and going and going and going.  Plus she wakes up at the most ungodly of time called five forty five. She is normally in bed by eight pm but do you know how many things a child can go through in that amount of time? How quickly they recover and are ready for more? If I could bottle it……millions I tell ya millions!

In all seriousness I have it pretty much covered til July. She is going to the mountains with a friend this first week. Then we have two weeks for her to recover. Then three day Disney vacation. Then there is three weeks of time where we have nothing planned. Sigh. I am going to need at least a week to recover from Disney. She will probably need a day. If that!

Then there is the flurry of planning the ladybug birthday party….

Image

Then I am pretty sure the plethora of ladybugs that will be residual of our ladybug birthday extravaganza that she will be entertained outside.

Right now I am thinking the idea of buying 4500 ladybugs for fifteen bucks for her party is pretty genius…..I will let you know about that later. It may not be as genius as I think it will be. Bug boxes, tweezers, magnifying glasses, bug nets…..a handful of eight year olds…What could possibly go wrong with that? DON”T ANSWER THAT!

The approaching days of summer brings alot of worries for me. I want her to enjoy her summer vacation but also retain what she has learned this year. We do have some library classes planned. Its not the reading I am concerned about. We are avid readers. We constantly use our imagination. The truth? Its the math. Simple addition, subtraction ,fractions, multiplication.  I am pretty sure just saying those words makes my brain explode.

My medications are sometimes miraculous to help me get through the day. However there are plenty of times when they are not so much. In fact there are some days I am convinced someone switched them with sugar pills. Wait….no  I might get a tad bit of energy or pain relief from the sugar….so….nothingness pills.  Pills that delude you into thinking they are going to give you even a little bit of relief.

I am not worried about taking her places or spending money. I am worried about just keeping up with her energy.  There may have to be some movie marathons snuggles in a cocoon of blankets.I could watch her sleep or her fascination with a movie or listen to her little giggle for hours on end.

My view point on summer vacation has changed drastically of how it was twenty years ago.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So when the pain is high I will do my best to push it aside and put myself down to an eight year olds level. To see the world in wonder again. To just enjoy the moment. When the pain keeps tapping my shoulder to get my attention we will drowned it out in blanket pillow piles for movie marathons.

I prefer these kinds of summers to the ones twenty years ago.

Talk to me! Tell me your thoughts!

